+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie to Above Ground Pools

Default Newbie to Above Ground Pools

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to pools in general. I found this forum while researching an above ground pool for my kids. I'm glad I did. I did by an 8' x 12' above ground pool. I have installed it and am waiting for the pump and filter to arrive to finish the install and fill up the pool. I bought the hayward models spec'd as good for most above ground pools....22" sand filter and 1/2 hp pump.

I am so new, I don't even know what I don't know, so I'm just going to ask, where to begin? I read the 7 day Intex startup, is that a good guide for my setup? I want to start off on the right foot. I filled out the form, but here are the particulars:

8x12 pool - 46" deep at water level when filled...which by my math is roughly 2900 gallons.
    Vinyl liner
    Pool will get about 11 hours of direct sunlight in the summer months.
    I have ordered the K-2006 testing kit

How do I get started and keep this clean and healthy? What equipment will I need - I saw the list on the 7 day Intex startup as far as what to buy before filling....bleach, borax, pool brush, pole, leaf rake, etc. Anything I'm missing?

I really do appreciate all the help here.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: Newbie to Above Ground Pools

You are right. The Startup Recipe would be a perfect way for you to get your pool up and running.

Good for you for doing your homework ahead of time. Too many people don't and then come here for help in a panic after they have made a mess of their pool!