+ Reply to Thread

Thread: had pool for a few years

Cool had pool for a few years

just changed liner and starting all over water is full pump running water clear and just cant get stabilizer up and pool to hold clorine i am new to site and new to BBB method have used pool shock and 3" puck s along with the usual stuff sold at pool place help in start the BBB METHOD

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: had pool for a few years

Shouldn't be too hard:

#1 - add 1/2 gallon of 6% chlorine bleach per 10,000 gallons of pool water . . . EACH evening till you've gotten stabilizer up.
    #2 - add 3 - 5 lbs of stabilizer to the pool per 10,000 gallons. Do so by FIRST cleaning your filter and then SECOND by adding the stabilizer slowly to a skimmer. Leave the pump running 24/7 for the next 4 days.
    #3 - buy a cheap OTO / phenol red test kit (Walmart or wherever) and start testing each evening b4 you add chlorine. Don't add chlorine if the OTO is very dark yellow or orange.
    #4 - report your results back here, and we'll help you move on to the next step.

Ben

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

And, to add to what Ben wrote, seek advice here before buying/adding "the usual stuff from the pool store." Pool stores are notorious for selling you a bunch of stuff you don't need.

One last thing he forgot to advise ------- go swimming and enjoy your pool! Welcome to the forum!