+ Reply to Thread

Thread: why not use vinegar as your acid when pH too high?

Default why not use vinegar as your acid when pH too high?

I'm new to the BB and have found it an amazing wealth of info.

it's mostly a theoretical question, with the BBB method- and the convience of household supplies I was wonder why vinegar isn't used to balance pH?

I'm guessing, dredging up college chem it might not be strong enough??

Default Re: why not use vinegar as your acid when pH too high?

Correct. Not enough oomph!

Michael

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Actually, I asked PoolDoc this question on the old forum and the answer is that the chemistry of vinegar ends up adding problematic other chemicals--I don't remember but it may be it creates phosphates???????

It's not the ooomph--it's the problems it creates.
    Carl

Personally, I prefer using orange juice.
    Outside of Philadelphia, PA
    18' x 40' IG - 22K gallons
    Sylvan Gunite Pool (1979)
    Plaster re-done (1997)
    48 Sq Ft Hayward D.E. Filter (2003)
    1.5 hp Hayward Super Pump (2006)

Quote Originally Posted by Bleach=Chlorine?
    Personally, I prefer using orange juice.
    is that with or without the champagne??

thanks all - as I said it was more a theortical question. I figured there was a problem with it or you'd all be using it

waterbear is offline Lifetime Member Sniggle Mechanic waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars

vinegar would cause acetates to form in the water (mostly sodium acetate and calcium acetate I would presume)...not sure what effect they might have but it probably isn't good. Muriatic acid only adds chlorides to the water, which are already there as sodium chorine and calcium chloride. Dry acid adds sulfates, which are suspected of causing problems to the plaster finish by some.

Also vinegar is a weak acid and just would not be effective.