+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mineral pool additives another scam? (King Technologies pool frog)

Default Mineral pool additives another scam? (King Technologies pool frog)

Hi There,

I've been using the bleach method for a few years, haven't visited the forum much as I haven't needed to. Glad things are updated and my account is back.

Anyhow a coworker just pointed out that she used this Pool Frog mineral system that supposedly reduces bacteria (of course the didn't mention algae). The claim is it reduces chlorine need by 50%. So scam or what? They have this "instant frog" that you just add to the skimmer and it's about $40. If it truly was beneficial I might try it but I am skeptical and I can't find anything in the way of reviews online.

Thanks!
    Frayed

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Mineral pool additives another scam? (King Technologies pool frog)

In today's swimming pool market "mineral" = "copper" or sometimes "copper + silver" or rarely "copper + zinc".

Copper kills algae. Copper kills bacteria . . . v-e-r-y _ s--l--o--w--l--y. Copper does not kill viruses.

In average pools (ie, non-PoolForum or BBB method pools) 50% or more of the chemical use in a typical season goes to cleaning up algae messes. PoolForum pools don't usually have algae messes, and when they do, they usually get cleaned up quickly.

My point? A typical pool with a lot of copper is less likely to have an algae bloom than one with no copper. So, yes if you used a "mineral" system faithfully, your use of chlorine would be reduced, perhaps 50%. So, I wouldn't call it a scam, not quite.