+ Reply to Thread

Thread: concerned about TA and CYA level

cleanteeth Guest

Talking concerned about TA and CYA level

I am new to the world of swimming pool maintenence. We just completed the installation of a 24 ft round 54" high above ground pool with a vinyl liner. About 4 inches of well water was added to hold down the liner, the rest came from city water trucked in. We had a couple of good storms yesterday so some of the water is from God above. The pool came with a sand filter with Zeobrite. I did order the Taylor K-2006 test kit so here are my numbers.

7:30 am
    pH 7.6
    FC 0.5
    CC 0.5
    TA 330
    CYA 0
    Calcuim 330 (don't think it matters with vinyl liner anyway)
    I added a jug (1.42 Gal) of Clorox regular bleach. BTW, I mixed it with pool water and poured it over the skimmer. Not sure about my method or if it even matters.

12 pm
    pH 7.6
    FC 4.5
    CC 0
    TA 350
    CYA 0
    The water is cloudy and greenish. I'm not quite sure what to start with. The pH is okay but I think if I don't have any CYA my chlorine is going to degrade too quickly. And the Alkalinity is way too high. I just need a nudge in the right direction if anyone is so inclined. Thanks in advance for your help.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

cleanteeth Guest

Default Re: concerned about TA and CYA level

The well water was first, just a few inches to hold down the liner, then two loads of water were added Thursday the 17th and the final load was Friday the 18th. Then the rain came yesterday during the last water fill and twice again before this morning. I noticed the cloudiness and green cast Friday morning. There is a little chlorine in the city water but I didn't get the pump and filter together and running until late Friday afternoon, then we had the monsoon so I didn't add chlorine until this morning. Make any sense?