+ Reply to Thread

Thread: No Clue What To Do - no chlorine reading

Unhappy No Clue What To Do - no chlorine reading

I've spent hundreds in chlorine just so far this year and I'm at my wit's end. My pool looks beautiful - it's clear straight to the bottom (30K gallon inground vinyl liner). But I cannot get a chlorine reading. The pool store doesn't seem to be steering me right. Usually I don't even need them - I adjust everything myself and it goes fine. I just dumped about 8 pounds of dichlor into it and I'm still getting NOTHING on my reading!
    My results from the pool store this morning were .5 available chlorine, 3.8 total chlorine 156 alk (high) 7.5 Ph (okay) 62 cyanuric acid (high).

All else okay.
    No clue what to do. I can't even get it to a 1 for chlorine let alone shock level of 10!

What am I doing wrong? I've been doing this for 10 years - I can't afford to buy any more shock. They gave me Yellow X this last time to try to boost the chlorine but it was 20 bucks flushed because it's done nothing.
    Why does my pool look great but no amount of shock will give me even a small reading? I even dunked my test strip into some chlorine in a bucket to be sure the "purple" was working............................?

waterbear is offline Lifetime Member Sniggle Mechanic waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars

Default Re: No Clue What To Do - no chlorine reading

Post a full set of test results and not from strips. If possible also test the pool for ammonia. There is a huge chlorine demand as evedenced by the high CC and very low FC.

Dichlor is NOT what you should be shocking with because for every 10 ppm FC you add with dichlor you also add 9 ppm CYA!
    Retired pool store and commercial pool maintenance guy.

Cool Re: No Clue What To Do - no chlorine reading

I'm not sure what they use to test, but it's called Pinpoint and it's done with droppers (not test strips I don't think...)
    FAC - .5 (lo)
    Total chlor 3.8