+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Solar heat in parallel w/ gas?

Default Solar heat in parallel w/ gas?

I've been running a 4'x20' solar panel for the past 3 years and the family has finally persuaded me into getting a gas heater. So I'm taking an advance on my $10 per week stimulus and bought a Hayward 100k heater. Question is, I'd like to experiment and run this gas heater in parallel with the solar heater and thereby reducing my gas cost since the water entering the gas heater from the solar panel would be a bit warmer (on sunny days) - my concern is that this would create too much head flow and would hamper actual filtering. Any thoughts? Has anyone tried this?

Regards,
    Wetviking in Chicago

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: Solar heat in parallel w/ gas?

Quote Originally Posted by wetviking View Post
    I've been running a 4'x20' solar panel for the past 3 years and the family has finally persuaded me into getting a gas heater. So I'm taking an advance on my $10 per week stimulus and bought a Hayward 100k heater. Question is, I'd like to experiment and run this gas heater in parallel with the solar heater and thereby reducing my gas cost since the water entering the gas heater from the solar panel would be a bit warmer (on sunny days) - my concern is that this would create too much head flow and would hamper actual filtering. Any thoughts? Has anyone tried this?

Regards,
    Wetviking in Chicago