+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mayday!! Mayday!!

Default Mayday!! Mayday!!

Just bought home with a whoppin big pool with whoppin big problems. I need help with (1) where to begin and (2) how to figure out how much of whatever to use get the water in shape. (I'm not a novice, just experienced on a much smaller IG vinyl lined pool.) the facts and figures:

inground painted concrete, 45,000 gal
    pH 7.9
    TA 121
    Calcium hardness 145
    Free CL 0
    Total CL 1.0
    CYA 8

Yes I have algae, and it is on the march; but although it looked like a farm pond when we took over, I got the water cleared up to where you could see the bottom before the algae took off. Slowly vacuuming the bottom to waste, lots of organic matter and silt. phew

... three weeks ago I said "I ain't afraid o' no swimming pool". now I'm eating those words

Thanks all

waste is offline PF Support Team Whizbang Spinner waste 3 stars waste 3 stars waste 3 stars

Default Re: Mayday!! Mayday!!

The first thing you want to do is hit it hard with bleach, and keep hitting it until the water clears! What do you have for a test kit? Even if you have a bad test kit, you can use the color of the water to determine the shocking (until you get a good kit) - hit it hard with bleach until the water starts to become clear, then you'll need a FAS/ DPD kit to complete the process.

Good luck!!
    Luv & Luk, Ted

Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill libraries

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars