+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Keeping the Chlorine up and light yellow stains

Arrow Keeping the Chlorine up and light yellow stains

This is my first year with our new inground pool. I'm having some problems keeping my water clear and with a light yellow stain that appears from time to time on all the whole pool. Here are the specifics on my pool:
    Pentiar IC40 SWG
    fiberglass
    sand filter

This is the history:
    1. left the pool open over the winter because it wasn't done and couldn't cover it.
    2. Looked pretty bad in the Spring but was able to get up and running and looking real good in about 2 weeks of working on it
    3. Had to replace the new concrete deck because the pool company did such a bad job so I was doing a LOT of vacuuming to get all of the concrete up.
    4. within a couple weeks of starting the pool up I started to get a light yellow stain on the built-in seat bottoms and the stairs. I read on here that I could use crushed up Vitamin C to take the stains off. This worked great!!! So, I went ahead and treated the pool with 2 pounds of ascorbic acid as described on here. Afterwards I treated it with a Sequestering agent.
    5. Pool went cloudy about a few days later. (we also had about 5 people in the pool over that weekend, and some dirt got into the pool as well because we aren't totally landscaped yet) The cloudiness was bad enough that I couldn't see the bottom on the 3' end. The color of the cloudiness was white, but it had a slightly aqua green tint to it.
    6. Shocked it with about 4 packets of HTH shock and brought it back to clear.
    7. Had about 7-8 people in the pool and again the pool went cloudy
    8. Shocked it again with 4 packets and it's starting to clear up, but today I've noticed that I'm getting the light yellow whole pool stain back. Sprinkled a little Ascorbic acid on the spots and it's coming off.