+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Help: any opinions on best SWCG: Poolpilot, PentairWatermaid, Aquarite?

Post Help: any opinions on best SWCG: Poolpilot, PentairWatermaid, Aquarite?

We're converting to a SWCG and looking for any experience with one manuafacturer over the other? Appreciate any success or sob stories on make & models for a 20x40 in-ground vinyl liner. Thanks in advance
    LUV MY POOL

Default Re: Help: any opinions on best SWCG: Poolpilot, PentairWatermaid, Aquarite?

I have an Aquarite and like it. But I have no experience with the others. I too have a 20x40 vinyl inground and my Aquarite does a fine job of keeping the CL up. I do keep my CYA up in the 60 to 80 range as recommended, keep my FC between 3 to 5. Depending on how cold/warm the water is, it runs at 25% to about 50% setting.

I do add bleach on occasion, primarily after a big rain or large group swim. Even when I turn the SWG up full blast, it seems that it can, on these rare occasions, get behind the curve and have trouble keeping enough active CL in the water to handle the large loads. It only happened 2 or 3 times last year (heavy load/rain, next day pool is cloudy, FC is low) and I use 2 or 3 gallons of bleach to clear it up.

Overall, I'm really happy with it. The one occasion we had to call the support line, they were fabulous and talked my wife through resetting the system and getting it working again.

nater is offline Registered+ Weir Watcher nater 0

Default Re: Help: any opinions on best SWCG: Poolpilot, PentairWatermaid, Aquarite?

Lots of info to your questions through this link:

http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=6484