+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Leaves on bottom of pool

Hybrid View

Default Leaves on bottom of pool

Ok,,, this has been a headache have been getting allot of leaves on the bottom of the pool. I been using the skimmer to vacumme it all up, untill I clogged up the valve where all the leaves go to. Now my junk Polaris 150 will not pickup the leaves on the bottom. What other tools equipment is better to use to get that kind of stuff from the bottom? ... and I mean allot of leaves Thanks!!
    Yes I am a newbie

Grecian 17'x33' Vinyl liner pool
    ZeoBrite filteration
    SWG Aqua-rite
    Sta-Rite Dura-Glas 1.5hp pump.
    SAM Light

21037.5 gallons

ivyleager is offline Lifetime Member Weir Watcher ivyleager 0

Default Re: Leaves on bottom of pool

I still rely on my handy dandy leaf net. A terrific upper body toner!

CaryB

waste is offline PF Support Team Whizbang Spinner waste 3 stars waste 3 stars waste 3 stars

Smile Re: Leaves on bottom of pool

Mike, a 'leaf rake' will help. They are deep nets, ~18' x ~8" x ~18" deep net to hold lots of leaves before needing to be emptied, that clip onto your skimmer pole just like the regular (flat) skimmer net.
    There's a bit of a learning curve for using them heres a few poential problems:
    Though the leaves themselves don't weigh too much, the water trapped with them does, so if you try to pick the full net up out of the water in the middle of the pool, the pole could bend or break - pull the net back to the wall and lift it straight up out.
    The leaves will try to escape if you don't keep the net moving to trap them in the bottom (a quick upward jerk will also seal the net)