+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: My Pool Looks Like An EASTER EGG!!! -- NOT a good thing!

PopcornGirl is offline ** No working email address ** Thread Analyst PopcornGirl 0

Exclamation My Pool Looks Like An EASTER EGG!!! -- NOT a good thing!

Ok, at risk of being totally lambasted for depending on my pool store... Here is my story:
    ***WAIT -- before I begin -- I just want to say that I am ready to learn how to take care of my pool myself and NOT depend on my pool store, but I REALLY NEED HELP because I am not confident at all when it comes to matters of science/chemistry (my degree is in History -- def. NOT a scientist!).***

Ok, here goes...
    We have an inground, gunite pool with exposed aggregate in a pretty blue-green color (GORGEOUS when it's clean and sparkling!). It is approx. 35 feet long and 9.5 feet wide with a 15' x 15' wide square, jut-out on the shallow end. (In other words, a long, narrow, rectangle with a box sticking out on one side.) We have a CARTRIDGE filter (slightly oversized, I'm told).
    >>Pool store estimated that my pool capacity was about 12,000 gallons???
    I have just METICULOUSLY tested my water and these are my readings RIGHT NOW (5:00 pm CDT on 16 April 2006):
    Water temp: 80 degrees F
    FC: 0.............. Yes, ZERO; it appears that we have created a riduculous chlorine demand with the black algaetrine (OR SOMETHING!) that we used prior to attacking the stain...
    TC: 0
    CC: 0 (obviously)
    pH: 8.0
    Acid Demand: 4 drops (or ~1.5 quarts muriatic acid)
    TA: 120
    CH: 360!
    CYA: 65