+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How do I add CYA? Having trouble...

Question How do I add CYA? Having trouble...

As you can see, I am a total newbie to this...

I have a new 13,000 IG gunite pool and am having trouble keeping my chlorine levels up using my Aquarite SWG. I have been adding bleach almost daily to keep the levels up to 3ppm. Without the bleach, the chlorine levels drop to 0-.5 very quickly, even with the SWG turned up very high (80-90). I have been running my pump for 9 hours a day (from 8am-12pm & 5pm-10pm). I've been using acid every couple of days to keep my pH levels to 7.4. My pH really likes to creep up on me.

For some reason, my pool company told me not to add stabilizer right away. (Not sure why.) I live in Florida and my pool gets LOTS of sun. I'm assuming that the lack of CYA is causing me to lose chlorine very quickly. My plan is to pick some up tomorrow and add it in, but I'm not sure what to look for. Is there a certain brand that is better? Is CYA liquid or powder? Do I toss it in the pool, or add it to the skimmer?

Am I even on the right track here?

All I can say is, Thank goodness for this site!

waterbear is offline Lifetime Member Sniggle Mechanic waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars

Default Re: How do I add CYA? Having trouble...

They might not want you to add it right away because it can have some detrimental effects on new plaster. I would follow their advice so you don't void your warrenty!
    Retired pool store and commercial pool maintenance guy.

Hmmm... Good point.

We've had water in the pool for a month now. The pool builder didn't tell me how long to wait before adding CYA, he just said not to add it right away. I guess I'll have to call them to see if I can get a more specific answer.

If they tell me it's ok to add some, how do I add it to the water? Just dump it in and brush?