+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newly replastered pool, need chemical help

abessellieu is offline ** No working email address ** abessellieu 0

Default Newly replastered pool, need chemical help

We just filled our newly replastered pool (35,000 gallons) on Sunday and I have been trying to adjust the chemicals ever since. I am a newbie using the BBB method and I think I am getting close in my numbers, but have a few questions/problems.
    Most recent test (with Wal Mart kit, am ordering Bens' kit today)
    Cl 5
    CYA < 30
    pH 7.0
    Alk 100
    Ca 290
    Cl - the chlorine got out of whack because I accidently added double the amount of Chlorox and used the wrong % (5.25 instead of 6) in the Bleach Calculator. Won't do that again. Do I just wait for it to go down? It is very sunny here right now and I guess it will slowly disappate, right? Or is there something else to do?
    CYA - It was zero on Monday when the water was trucked in and I added 25 lbs of CYA. I figured I could always add more, but understood from other threads that it is a pain to remove. So it seems I need to add more, but I wonder if the levels continue to rise. Should I wait to add more, or can I do it now?
    pH & Alk - the pH is a little low, but the Alk seems just about right. If I add Baking Soda to bring the pH up, won't I mess up the Alk levels? Is there something else I can do? Or will it naturally rise because of the curing process. It does seem to creep up.
    Ca - this level has ranged from 190 to 300, and is 290 now. I understand this is important to monitor with new plaster. Should I be using 300 as a target? The kid (truly didn't look over 16) at Leslie's lectured me ('danger,danger - alien approaching' type thing) on letting my calcium levels get over 400, so I got worried, but I didn't have a lot of confidence in him. What can I expect here while the plaster cures, and what should my target be?
    And final question - at what point is it safe/comfortable to swim?