+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: SWCG vs Manual/Inline Chlorinator

Question SWCG vs Manual/Inline Chlorinator

I am a newbie to the forum and pool ownership. I would like opinion on an automated SWCG vs the old tried/true chlorine system (manual or inline). The recent pool builder sales pitches have been around SWCG but when checking in with neighbors or pool supply companies they are saying stay with an in line chlorine tablet system. Which is better. I live in Houston, avg summer temp above 90 with afternoon thunderstorms. Is a SWCG system good for this environment? In the reader's experience and opinion which is better to own, operate and maintain?

thanks

jmce1587

Default Re: SWCG vs Manual/Inline Chlorinator

We've had a SWCG for about 18 months now and all I can say is that I'll never have a pool without one again. In spite of the good advice posted here to test the water frequently, I've gotten lazy lately and have been testing once every 7-10 days and the water stays...perfect. Yesterday's test results (my first full test in nearly a month) showed:

FC 5.5
    CC 0
    TC 5.5
    pH 7.8
    Alk 120
    Cal 200
    CYA 60
    Temp 85

In the last 2-3 weeks I've added 16oz. of muriatic acid and done nothing else.
    While I'm not recomending anyone get so lazy about testing their water, I couldn't been happier with the nearly no maintenance of the pool. The SWCG does it's thing and I can be pretty certain that if I'm gone for a week at a time, when I get home the pool will be nearly...perfect. Given my experience, for me it's a no-brainer. SWCG everytime.

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars