Closed Thread

Thread: Should I Build or Not

Omer61 is offline ** No working email address ** Omer61 0

Cool Should I Build or Not

I have been doing extensive research on the pros and cons of GC ing my own pool and would like some input. I have quite a lot of knowledge in the building construction trades but next to zero in pool building I have subscribed to Ben Chois website on "How I Built My Own Pool" I would love to hear from someone in Tallahassee or surrounding area and welcome any comments or even critiques.

Default Re: Should I Build or Not

We are in the process of having a pool company build our pool and I can say i wish I would have done it myself. If you have the time to be there when the contractors arrive and make sure everything is doen to your satisfaction then I would say go for it. Building a pool is NOT rocket science..being an engineer I did A LOT of research before we chose to hire the company we did and even though I thought they would handle everything and I could just sit back and wait to swim I found out that I still had to check up on them every day and double check the work that has been done.

Do your research and find out exactly what is needed and dont skimp on your plans...hire someone to engineer your pool and have detailed drawings ready for the contractors and if you have any mechanical aptitude at all I would say you can handle it. If you know any freinds or relatives that have pools go visit withe them and find out what they may have done differently or what was a particularly difficult time for them and study it...you can never have enough information. I did this and I have felt extremely prepared even though I hired a GC for my pool...in some cases I have asked questions that even the superintendent of my pool complany couldnt answer but the contractors could...

GOOD LUCK!