+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Does Alkalinity Cause pH To Increase Faster?

Default Does Alkalinity Cause pH To Increase Faster?

I recently read some articles on PoolForum about pH increasing over time as you add bleach each day so you have to lower it using muriatic acid. For years I have just accepted this as a fact from the bleach having a high pH. Decreasing the pH creates the conditions favorable for Alkalinity to decrease and so mine does. But recently, this post raised some questions about whether or not the bulk of the pH increase is actually due to the bleach. I used to be a lab chemist years ago, so I decided to run some tests to see if I could find anything unusual. I don't have a lab, labware or highly accurate measuring instruments like I once did, so my results are "ball park".

I used 3/4 gallon bleach jugs that were cleaned, rinsed multiple times and allowed to sit dry for 3 days. In bottle #1 I collected straight tap water. My water is provided by the city and the source is a local lake. So it is chlorinated and soft (tastes good too!). In bottle #2 I collected straight pool water. Bottle #3 was half pool water and half tap water.

For the water in each bottle I took initial readings. Then I added 3 drops of 6% bleach, mixed and took readings again after 10 minutes. Each drop of bleach should add approximately 1ppm chlorine. For those interested, there are 20 drops in 1ml and there are 3785 ml in a gallon. So 3785 X 0.75 X 20 = 56,775 drops. 6% bleach is 60,000 ppm. So if you do the concentration conversion C1V1=C2V2, you come up with each drop adding 1.06 ppm chlorine (basic emergency plan training).