+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Heliocol versus FAFCO Solar Panels - Differences???

Default Heliocol versus FAFCO Solar Panels - Differences???

WE have a NE angle at the sun in Orlando and have been told that we need
    115% of 390sf surface area.

We talked to 2 salesman. One representing Heliocol and the other representing Fafco brands. Of course, both say their product is best.

Would love to hear any opinions and experiences on these 2 brands and their effectiveness plus how you liked the installation method. Both appear to be different.

Thanks in advance.

WBell
    Orlando, FL

Default Re: Heliocol versus FAFCO Solar Panels - Differences???

I have no experience with Heliocol, but I installed my own FAFCO panels. My pool is 450 SF and I installed 240 SF of panels, 6 4X10's. I live in San Diego,CA and the panels are mounted on the garage roof and oriented toward the South East. The entire system cost me around $1000.00, including panels, pipes, sensor and valve.

I run the solar off the filter pump with a Jandy automatic valve controlled by my RS-8 controller. I normally run the filter pump for 5 hours per day, during the warmest times, from 9:00AM to 2:00PM. Because of the orientation, I loose the sun after 2:00PM. A sensor on the roof tells the RS-8 to open the solar valve, which circulates water.

I purchased the panels off the web and they came rolled up in boxes. It took a few days of warm weather to unroll them, being plasitc. My roof is concrete tile and I first layed down some thin foam to act as a cushion, then placed each panel over the foam. I used the nylon straps provided and drilled holes through the tile and achored each panel using lag type screws into the plywood sheeting. I caulked the hell out of each and every hole, hoping to avoid any leaks. I used the standard confiuration with all 6 panels in parallel and pump the cool water into the bottom manifold and the warm from the top.