+ Reply to Thread

Thread: IntelliChlor IC20 - Cell Light off more than on

CanuckPool is offline *Removed User* Weir Watcher CanuckPool 0

Default IntelliChlor IC20 - Cell Light off more than on

Hi everyone, I am a newbie pool owner here in Canada, and just had the IC20 installed... its an all Pentair system Filter/Pump/Heater/Lights etc. My pool chlorine level seems to be on the low side all the time. I have tested it with the Taylor test kit and it seems to be around 1.0 - 1.2 ish. Moderate bathers, south facing, been partially sunny. The pool was opened about a week ago and it was manually shocked to start it off and IC20 set at 100% for 24 hours. I had the pool water tested today and here were the results.

FC .20
    TC .30
    Combined Chlorine .1
    pH 8.00
    Hardness 130 ppm
    Alk 200.0 ppm
    CYA 5 ppm

So I put in Aqua pH minus to lower the pH and Alk, Aqua CAL to raise the hardness and AQUA Stab to raise the CYA. Remember, this is a brand new vinyl pool (16x34) so its not like I have had these readings for weeks.

Ok, so now that you have the background, here is my question. I set the IC20 to superchlorinate for 24 hours 100%. Apparently it goes on for 59 minutes and rests for 1 minute (cell light is on when producing chlorine). The cell light comes on when I set it, but if I check on it 5-10 minutes later the cell light is off, it eventually comes on again but not for long, maybe 2 minutes and then it goes off again for another 90 seconds. It seems the longer you leave it, when you check on it, the cell light is off more than it is on. I am wondering if this could be the cause of low chlorine. Does anyone else have this unit? All the other lights on the unit read fine (Salk ok, cell life ok, flow ok)

thoughts???

Ballz2TheWallz Guest

Default Re: IntelliChlor IC20 - Cell Light off more than on

My IC40's cell light is never on

did you do a chlorine test? is it producing chlorine?