+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Electric for robotic cleaner

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    24

    Default Electric for robotic cleaner

    When the electrician comes to do my electric should I ask him/her to put in a seperate outlet somewhere as close to the pool as possible for the cleaner or are the cords long enough. The closest waters edge will be about 15 feet from an outlet. Pool is 36' length. I'm considering Dolphin and Aquabot.

  2. #2
    IMherDad is offline ** No working email address ** IMherDad 0
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN.
    Posts
    48

    Default Well it depends

    on what the electrical code is in your area. I would suppose that you would want one by the pump to run it. We ran our robotic cleaner off the same outlet where we run the pump.

    It had pleanty of cord from the robotic cleaner to the transformer that runs the cleaner.

    Hope that helps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Southeast Missouri
    Posts
    43

    Default I would.

    My outlet is about 6' from the edge and it works out great. I have a 20' x 40' and it allows it plenty of cord to do its thing. On mine, the cord gets twisted around itself by the end of the cycle time so the more allowance you have the better.

  4. #4
    cgc2 is offline ** No working email address ** cgc2 0
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    .
    Posts
    20

    Default

    In our state, outlet must be min. of 8 feet from the pool.
    I have a 20x38, and the 65 ft cord on the Dolphin Dynamic is more than adequate, even with the cart(which the power supply is attached to) is 12 ft from the water line.

  5. #5
    leejp is offline Registered+ Thread Analyst leejp 0
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Upstate, NY (Dutchess County)
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: Electric for robotic cleaner

    I am considering doing the same but I will run an appliance coupler outlet instead (the same connector that's on my Aquabot). This way I'll be running low voltage DC. I'll size the cable so the DC drop is negligible (3 discrete runs of 20A roemax maybe).

    The folks at Dolphin and Aquabot are asleep at the wheel. The Polaris guys have worked into a lucrative niche for themselves by aligning with installers/dealers so booster pumps and plumbing are built into new pool installs. The pool guys install electrical for lighting so all they would need to do is to design a waterproof floor outlet with a remote on/off switch (for the power supply/control unit) and a power supply/control unit that's weather tight. I think anyone would rather deal with this setup vs booster pumps and more plumbing.
    26,000 Vynil Liner L Inground
    Hayward 1HP Superpump + Hayward Pro Grid 4800 DE Filter
    Poolvergnuegen thepoolcleaner Pressure Side Cleaner
    Loop-Loc Mesh cover

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. looking for a robotic cleaner for AG
    By rajung in forum Pool Cleaning: Manual or Automatic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2013, 12:40 AM
  2. Budget Robotic Cleaner
    By giantsnation in forum Pool Cleaning: Manual or Automatic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 10:42 AM
  3. Robotic cleaner AND a floor cleaner system?
    By Yellowdog in forum Pool Cleaning: Manual or Automatic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 10:31 AM
  4. Robotic cleaner owners - how often?
    By eljefe281 in forum Pool Cleaning: Manual or Automatic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 04:33 PM
  5. Cordless Robotic Cleaner
    By Laguna Joe in forum Pool Cleaning: Manual or Automatic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 08:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts