+ Reply to Thread

Thread: First algea in new pool/spa

mkelley is offline Registered+ Thread Analyst mkelley 0

Default First algea in new pool/spa

We've had our IG gunite pool/spa for nearly a year now and everything's been fine until today, when we noticed green algea (quite a bit, actually) growing in the spa on the drain cover and spa light. It's not in the pool (yet?) but I'm worried because this seemingly sprang up overnight (perhaps it's been there a day or two, since we don't always look in the spa, but no longer).

So I come running here before I run to the pool store for advice -- since I'm a total newbee at this, and since my chemistry in the pool seems fine, what do I do? Does it make a difference that we've been keeping the pool at around 88 degrees for the last couple of months?

We have a salt chlorinator and it's running at 90% right now but all levels seem fine.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: First algea in new pool/spa

Post some current water testing results from a drops based kit and then somebody here can take a look and offer some advice. You are so smart coming here first before going to the pool store for advice!

mkelley is offline Registered+ Thread Analyst mkelley 0

Default Re: First algea in new pool/spa

My kit ran out two weeks ago and I haven't bought another (on my to-do list but I was in the hospital...) But I did write down my results back then if it helps:

CYA 60
    Tot Chlorine: 1.7 (and that was when I bumped up the salt-chlorinator to 90% from the 75% it had been at)
    Free Chlorine: 1.7
    Ph 8.4: (I added 5 pounds of Lo and Slo to the pool after that)
    Minerals 2500
    Total Hardness 388