+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Solar Panel Question for Above Groud Pool.............

Default Solar Panel Question for Above Groud Pool.............

Hi:

I just joined the forum and I am new to pools and equipment, so I have lots to learn.

Anyway, I just installed an above ground oval pool (15x24). The installation went very well. I live in Ontario and we just had a heat wave, so the pool warmed up to about 84 degrees F, and has stayed around the 80 degree mark. The dealer I got the pool from last fall gave me a deal on a solar panel which I just got around to installing on the garage roof this past weekend. The solar panel is a FAFCO Solar Bear Economy System for above ground pools. The panel is 4x20 feet.

Here's my question; How much more heat will the solar panel supply the water in the pool? The last couple of days the pool has ranged around 82 degrees with water flowing through the panel. Now, I am not sure how much the solar panel contributed to the heat as the air temperature could have helped that out also. From what others told me I should see a 5 degree jump in temperature. Did I waste my money getting a solar panel when the hot weather could have done the heating for me? The dealer and literature I read mentioned that I only need one of these panels for the size of pool I got, but should I have bought 2? Anyone, have any experience with this solar panel; how much heat should be expected to gain from it and over how much time. Also, there is a red handle valve built into the solar panel. I read you should turn this valve so that the pressure is increased to 5 to 7 psi, so the water flows slower in the panel presumably to pick up more heat from the sun. Would this be correct, or should the valve be fully open during sun light times for maximum flow.

Sorry for all the questions, but I am new and would appreciate anyone with some suggestions or answers.

Thanks,

John

matt4x4 is offline Lifetime Member Verb Herder matt4x4 2 stars matt4x4 2 stars