Closed Thread

Thread: Basic 27' above ground....quotes??

Default Basic 27' above ground....quotes??

I'd like to snag a basic decent 27' above ground round for our yard.

I'm seeing lots of inexpensive basic pools on Ebay but I'm weary. I'm a complete newbie, and the install would need to be done by a pro. We live in North Carolina, I'm assuming our pool season would be from mid-April until October.

It seems I can snag a complete pool w/ filter etc for $2500 or so, some are even a bit cheaper. What about install? Whats reasonable to expect? I'm also weary of having an outsider install a pool I purchased online because they won't have any reason to stand behind it. Thoughts?

Keep in mind I'm a complete pool newbie. In-ground is out, as my wife and I are newly married, in a new-construction neighborhood, and don't have $40k to do it right. I would just assume spend $5k now and be happy, then possibly years down the road get an in-ground....

I'd like the pool to be as sturdy as possible. Certainly I want to be able to kick off the side of it when swimming and not worry about it falling over.

Thoughts? brands to stay away from?

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: Basic 27' above ground....quotes??

I will tell you what I tell every would-be A/G pool owner:
    Check out your site. You need a perfectly level site that can support the 77 tons of water your pool will have. If you don't have a perfectly level site, you MAY spend as much on the site as you do on the pool.

It's cheaper, by far, to dig down than build up, but in either case if you have anything under the site, like cables, gas lines or even sprinkler lines they need to be moved first.