+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 1st test results

aggie97 is offline ** No working email address ** aggie97 0

Default 1st test results

I just got back from vacation and received my test kit. While I was away, it rained a couple of times, so I thought that I would use my new kit to test the pool. I have an in ground pool with a spa. My first readings were as follows:

FC - 0.5
    CC - 0.5
    TC - 0.5
    pH - 8.2
    Alk - 130
    Cal - 250
    Cya - 60
    Temp - pool - 86 outside - 98

I am about to add some chlorine and acid to my pool to help adjust my numbers. Is there anything else that you would suggest. I am a first time pool owner and will admit that I am still learning. Also, in the packet it stated that a Test Kit Guide Book would be mailed later. When can I expect this and does it explain the tests. I followed the instructions perfectly, but don't always know what I am testing, what the results mean, what is good/bad, or what to do to correct these things. Any help that you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: 1st test results

FC: .5
    CC: .5
    TC: .5

Sorry! Those numbers are IMPOSSIBLE! TC = FC + CC always and forever. Even so, you need lots of chlorine.

Your pH is far too high, but I guess you know that.
    Carl

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Your Cl needs to be brought up to 5-6 ppm, at a minimum. In fact, I think I would shock it because it's so low right now. AFter you add acid to bring your pH down....

Janet

aggie97 is offline ** No working email address ** aggie97 0