Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: steel vs polymer walls ?

Default steel vs polymer walls ?

One of the great frustrations in researching pools, is that you hear lots of bad advice. I am told that even the best galvanized walls will eventually rust, especially if they are scratched. Also considering that chlorine is corrosive, and that the resulting pits & surface irregularities can be hard on a liner,.....and I am leaning toward polymer. I have also heard that polymer is harder to set up. Any help from the pros on this issue?

Default Re: steel vs polymer walls ?

I am not a pro but am in the process of putting in a polymer walled pool Things seemed to go well. The panels were light. Everything fit well. I will let you know in 10 years. Pool has water in it, am just waiting on my electrical inspection to start the pump. Purchased the pool from poolwarehouse.com. They were pretty goood to deal with and matched any price I compared to. Chris
    Blding 18x36 IG vinyl rectangle with custom inpool steps, 22,000 gallons. Chris In Chapel Hill, NC us7sail@earthlink.net

Dave,

I live in Wisconsin and did a poly wall 5 years ago and 2 of my cousins have done the same brand. If you have any questions send me an email.

gg

Chris,

Interested in your inpool steps. A standard set of fiberglass pool steps is the one of the biggest drawback IMHO to a vinyl pool. The inpool steps look so much better. I am considering a DIY pool. Did poolwarehouse assist you with steps? I found an article on the internet that detailed some of the construction details. Post a picture if you can.

Eric

Our polymer walls fit fine. We chose them because they wouldn't rust. Jo
    40,000 gal. DIY IG vinyl pool , Zodiac SWG, sand filter w/ Zeobrite, 3 Aqua Genie skimmers, 2 HP pump, pavers

Madty is offline ** No working email address ** Thread Analyst Madty 0