+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I am a newbie here and with pool

Default I am a newbie here and with pool

This is my first pool. Purchased at walmart. 16' x 3 1/3 ft. It came with no help what so ever. I know absolutely nothing about pool care except for what I have read here, and read in my start up kit, purchased seperatly. The new pool is Intex above ground vinyl pool. I am not sure on the gallons, but I think it is closet o 3500 ? Does that sound right? I started it up with 5 of the clorox tabs, and 5 tblsp of Shock. Is that enough? How much plain bleach can I use from now on, and do I need borax? How much baking soda?

My ph level is high. According to the test strips. Free chlorine looks good. That is all I know. Havent swam in pool yet. Too cold but sure cant wait. Thanks for the help.

Sheila

Default Re: I am a newbie here and with pool

I forgot to click for answer to be sent to email...sorry..

duraleigh Guest

Hi, Sheila,

Lot's of nice folks here will help you keep your pool clear.

Your pool is 4,500 gallons.

Stop back by Wal-Mart and get the HTH 5-way test kit. (about $15) It will test for chlorine, pH, Alkalinity, Calcium and CYA. Post those test results back and folks will help you. Without those results, tho, we'd all be guessing.

Test strips are just too unreliable to help you (or us) much.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars