+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Can you review this before I take the plunge?

Default Can you review this before I take the plunge?

First time poster but I've been using the forum for a few months.

Okay
    I have a
    10,000 gallon vinyl lined pool
    Cya is approx 110 (vial only goes to 80 or 90)
    Calcium Hardness 34
    Ph 7.6
    TA 130
    Pac Fab Nautilus fiberglass DE filter (old!)
    Heater

Here's the question My total CL is 1.5 and FC is 0 so that means my CC is 1.50 so I should shock it using x 10 right? Which would be 15. I'm using 10% Sodium Hypochlorite.
    I'm about to add 1.5 gallons of SodHyp. Should it be more considering the cya level?

I've only been using the SodHyp or bleach. We used the pucks for nearly a year and that's why my cya is so high. I've drained and filled and drained and filled. It was a nightmare.

The pool looks great except for a little DE at the bottom. I replaced the filter grids and replaced the "o" ring (totally missing) on the stand pipe . I think it's coming from the strainer on the air relief tube. Leslies sold me a metal screen type strainer and it used to have a really super fine mesh fabric. Almost like a teeny tiny drum. I ordered a new one online. Why did I listen to them?!

I think that's about it. My main Question was about the amount of chlorine but I welcome any and all suggestions.

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: Can you review this before I take the plunge?

You are right that you have a problem of no FC and 1.5ppm of CC.

Sorry, but you are WAY too low if that CYA is right:

According to Ben's "Best Guess" table, for a CYA of 100 to 200 PPM, your MAINTENANCE Free Chlorine should be between 8 and 15ppm. Your shock level is 25ppm.
    You need 2 1/2 gallons of 10% to get your pool to 25ppm--where it needs to be right now.