+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Bad Paint Job, Crooked Pool company?

Default Bad Paint Job, Crooked Pool company?

I am new to operating pools, Just took my CPO course, After 15 years of the construction industry I now work as a maintenance superintendent at a condominium complex and know nothing about Re-Painting a pool. I am running a 56,000 Gallon Semi Public pool.
    I have built above ground and in ground pools, so I do know a bit about their construction. When i started the job it was before the pool was open. The guys that opened the pool seemed shady to me. First of all they said the water was balanced. (then why would the Calcium hardness been at 30? They promised a lot and delivered little.

MY MAIN PROBLEM
    They said they TSP washed the pool at the close of last season, and painted it. The paint is peeling, flaking, and coming up every where. Is this Normal? The Pool company that opened and painted it said " I told them that they needed to resurface the pool and painting would not work."

I think they are taking us for a ride...
    What should I do?

Now my property manager is going to have them come in and paint the pool at an additional cost?
    Something does not seem right..

My property Manager tells me not to worry about it that she is taking care of it.. and she is not.. she is letting the get away with doing a lot of BS work, out of ignorance or I don’t know what.
    They also failed to mention several problems with how the plumbing was set up.(that I noticed)
    1) the chlorinator was installed upstream of the pool heater, there was no check valve installed( not that, that mattered because the heater is now trash)
    2) the flow meter is not operational and there was only one installed on one of our 2 high rate sand filters.