+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Pool Startup - Help

Default New Pool Startup - Help

Pool Newbie here...

Had my pool startup last week with my PB. He shocked the pool, left some chlorine sticks, and test strips. I've ordered Ben's kit (not sure how long it will take to come).

Here are my pool specs:
    Gunite/Pebbletec
    40,000 gals; 3.5' to 8.5' depth
    DE Filter
    SWG (not turned on yet, PB will be back in 30 days to start it up)
    Fill water was trucked in but has been supplemented with well water. I also have an auto-fill from well so I will probably need to watch the minerals.

So, until he comes back to turn on SWG, I'm on my own. Since I don't like/trust the test strips, I went to the local pool store for measurements.

TC: 0
    FC: 0
    pH: 7.4
    Alk: 115
    TDS: 350
    CYA: 0

Water is clear and about 84 degrees..

Obviously the pool store is recommending shocking (Burn Out Extreme) then using Muriatic Acid to control the pH in case it rises. Are there other options like BBB until I'm ready for SWG?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

duraleigh Guest

Default Re: New Pool Startup - Help

Quote Originally Posted by under_h2o
    Pool Newbie here...

Had my pool startup last week with my PB. He shocked the pool, left some chlorine sticks, and test strips. I've ordered Ben's kit (not sure how long it will take to come).

Here are my pool specs:
    Gunite/Pebbletec
    40,000 gals; 3.5' to 8.5' depth
    DE Filter
    Fill water was trucked in but has been supplemented with well water. I also have an auto-fill from well so I will probably need to watch the minerals.

So, until he comes back to turn on SWG, I'm on my own. Since I don't like/trust the test strips, I went to the local pool store for measurements.

TC: 0
    FC: 0
    pH: 7.4
    Alk: 115
    TDS: 350
    CYA: 0

Water is clear and about 84 degrees..