+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Why Salt?

Question Why Salt?

I've had my pool for about 5 years now and this is the first time I've heard anybody mentioning putting salt in the pool. Why would this be a good thing and what level should it be at. I bought the new test kit with the salt test and it only took two drops to stay orange. Is that a bad thing?

I just realized (the day after posting) that this should have been in another section. Sorry . . . new to forums/chat sites.
    Last edited by poolmom2; 06-22-2006 at 09:42 AM.

Default Re: Why Salt?

From what I've heard:

Pros - Salt is not as harsh as chlorine, easier on clothes, skin, eyes, etc. Easier to maintain and keep your pool water clear.

Cons - Evidence of rust and corrosion after several years, plus higher cost of equipment installation.

Yes I am a newbie but if I'm wrong then the pool builders I've talked to have done a poor job educating me. I blame it on them!

Jeff, salt is not doing the job of chlorine. I've added salt to my non- SWG pool to make the water "feel" better. Has nothing to do with maintaining clarity of pool water.

Your builders were probably refering to usine a SWG. You add salt to your water with these systems as they convert the salt to chlorine while your pump is running. This may be what they meant by easier to maintain; No need to add chlorine to your pool manually because the SWG does it automatically for you.

As for the cons, I agree with the higher initial equipment cost and whether it ends up being cheaper depends on the life you are able to get from your chlorine generating cell. As for the rust/corrosion, I haven't ready any instances of this with a properly maintained system and salt levels.

Poolmom, people add salt to their water to get the salinity to more closely match the body. Makes the water feel better, but this is subjective. It's certainly not a necessary addition to maintain a crystal clear pool.

Talking Re: Why Salt?