+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Bleach vs Pucks

Default Bleach vs Pucks

I am new to site and I am confused as to whether I can use pucks on daily basis and use bleah to shock once a week. I do this now and everyitng is ok. Am i heasde for trouble doing this?

Default Re: Bleach vs Pucks

What are your CYA levels now?

The problem with continued puck use is that they continually add CYA to your water. As these levels increase, the bleach becomes less effective at sanatizing your pool, requiring you maintain higher FC levels (see Ben's "Best Guess" chart). If your CYA gets too high (and it can get their quickly, recent info pegged the CYA content of the pucks/sticks at about half) the only way to lower it is a partial drain and refill, leading to pool downtime and possibly added expense.

Pucks are also very acidic so you need to keep a close eye on your PH levels.

I should have posted my numbers which are as follows:
    FC 3
    TC 2
    PH 7.2
    Cya 50
    Alk 100
    IG plaster 23000 gals DE filter

A problem I have is I cant figure my CC becasue the FC is higher than TC.
    If I dont use pucks than what do I use as daily maintenace? Bleach? I thought the bleach was only to shock. I am probably reading these posts wrong but it seems like everyone is putting a lot of bleach in their pools. Could someone explain the basic amt and when bleach shoud be used and if it is used as a shock or maintenace? Hope I made myself clear. Sorry if I didnt

Quote Originally Posted by Rangeball
    Pucks are also very acidic so you need to keep a close eye on your PH levels.
    I had a low ph problem, shut off my automatic chlorinator (loaded with pucks) and my ph got higher and now stabilized. It was really tough trying to raise my ph when using the pucks. So, at least for me, they caused problems and I wouldn't recommend them.
    35,000 gallon inground vinyl pool.

See my 6 cats at catslove.com! Visit DMCTalk.com for all your DeLorean needs!