+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Pentair IntelliChlor IC60 reduced output?

Hybrid View

Default Pentair IntelliChlor IC60 reduced output?

I have been using the IC60 for 5 years. My pool could have used a IC40 but I over did it thinking would not need to run the IC60 as hard. Everything has been fine for 5 years till Saturday. I removed the solar cover and could not see the deep end. We were in the pool the day before and water was crystal clear. Checked and no free chlorine. I have been running the IC60 at 10% this whole season (I opened the pool 1st week of May). I added some bleach and boosted the IC60 to 100%. The water is clear but I noticed I had 0 CYA, PH was low, and FC is .5 and TC is 1. My first thought is that the IC60 is running at a reduced rate (I never had to clean it, I assumed because I run it so low). I have gotten CYA up to 20, PH is at 7.3 not sure what is going on here. Is there a way to test how much my IC60 is generating? Maybe I have a different problem....

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Pentair IntelliChlor IC60 reduced output?

You got 5 years out of an Intellichlor? I am AMAZED!

Pentair started out with a 3-year warranty on those dogs, and almost immediately reduced it to 1. Unfortunately, I'd installed 6 of them in a large commercial pool, before I found out.

Don't think you "over did it" with the IC-60. All SWCG's live and die by "on-time"; the bigger the unit, the smaller the "on-time", and the longer it will last. The fact you got an 'oversized' IC60 is almost certainly the REASON yours lasted so long.

You could do some testing, but with 5 years, you are at the end of life no matter what.