+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: what gauge of liner and how to stop ants

leena is offline Registered+ Thread Analyst leena 0

Default what gauge of liner and how to stop ants

So ive been complaining about a leak for the last 3 years or more. I finally discovered it was tiny holes in the bottom egde of pool. Where the bottom and walls meet. Im assuming it is ants as there are dozens of pin holes. I sprayed around the pool all last summer and spent alot of hours putting patches on them underwater. It slowed my water leak and I used the pool. Then by summers end, the holes were back and it was leaking again so i just stopped filling it up and left it all winter. Here it is warm weather slowly coming and I need to deal with it.

1.I need to order a new liner. What gauge should I get? Its an above ground 24' pool, 52" tall.

2.How do I treat to keep the ants from doing this to the new liner? Well I havent pulled the old liner yet to determine, I m just assuming ants..........

3.After I pull up the old liner and get the problem fixed, can I reinstall the old liner before putting in the new one to help provide "cushion" or a layer of protection between the liner and pool/ground.

BTW, the new pump/filter was awesome last year!
    24 round 12-14K gal AG vinyl pool; chlorine tabs and bleach; 300lb Hayward sand filter; Hayward 1 HP 2-speed pump; K-2006

Default Re: what gauge of liner and how to stop ants

I don't have an above ground pool, but I would recommend the heavier gauge liner.

From what I have read, when the ground is exposed, use a "queen killing" insecticide. Then a plastic tarp layer or two, followed by regular insulation foam board secured with gorilla tape, and a top layer of "gorilla pad" seems to have worked well for others with any issues.

Good luck! I loathe ants!