+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: "Great Value" Bleach raising pH?

Default "Great Value" Bleach raising pH?

Is anyone else using Great Value Concentrated (8.25% Hypochlorite) bleach? I had been using Stop&Shop for a couple of years with no problems, but switched to GV because I couldn't get the big bottles of SS. Ever since, my pH has been climbing. Prior to this, my pH was steady at 7.4 and would drop slightly after a heavy rain. It is now at 7.8 and my skin feels like a mild sunburn after getting out if I don't rinse off. I am using the Taylor R-0870, R-0871, R-003. My levels are:

FC = 0.0 (I know! Sorry!)
    CC < 0.2
    pH = 7.8
    CYA = 45
    TA = 110
    Sharkline Escalade RTR 24' x 54" Round AGP; OptiFlo 2-speed pump; Pentair PLM-100 Cartridge Filter; Hayward 250FDN Heater; Taylor K-2006; AquaIlluminator Return

Default Re: "Great Value" Bleach raising pH?

I don't think the change in bleach is the problem at all. I hope your pool survives the low FC!!!
    26K gal 20x40 rectangular IG vinyl pool; Apr 2014: New pump, liner, auto-cover, & water; Pentair Whisperflo 1HP pump; Pentair Trition sand filter; Cover/Star CS-500 auto cover; Taylor K-2006C; OTO

I just added 110 oz of the S&S. It should be fine. Why do you suppose pH would rise? Woulld it make sense that at 7.8 it could burn skin?
    Sharkline Escalade RTR 24' x 54" Round AGP; OptiFlo 2-speed pump; Pentair PLM-100 Cartridge Filter; Hayward 250FDN Heater; Taylor K-2006; AquaIlluminator Return

7.8 is at the top of the range. Maybe your skin is more sensitive. Maybe also the pH is actually higher than 7.8. The color matching is hard for some people. Did you go ahead and lower it?
    26K gal 20x40 rectangular IG vinyl pool; Apr 2014: New pump, liner, auto-cover, & water; Pentair Whisperflo 1HP pump; Pentair Trition sand filter; Cover/Star CS-500 auto cover; Taylor K-2006C; OTO