Closed Thread

Thread: Air leak

Default Air leak

Greetings-
    I thought I kill two birds with one stone. I'm a newbie and wanted to introduce myself and follow up with an embarrasing question. Hi, I'm a 39 year old, male, engineering, living in MA/ NH with wife and small baby. My screen name is the same one I use on www.nissanforums.com, you can find me living over there for any of your Nissan Altima car questions.

Okay now to my embarrasing question.

My wife and I inheirtied one of those pack n' play pools (16 ft diameter) where the outer ring is blown up with air and then you fill it and when the seasons done you pack it away for next year, basically a kiddy pool. Last year it worked great, this year where experiencing a small air leak in the ring that gets blown up. Where both having a difficult time locating the air leak. Short of purchasing a expensive leak detection kit, does anyone have any suggestion on finding the leak. We tried the soapy water method to no prevail and my wife want to throw it out. Being an engineer, I though if you sprayed in a either some powder dye , if it exist, or using the tire fix-a-flat.

Thanks
    Frank

Default Re: Air leak

Can you fill it with water from hose? I am sure you can rig an adapter. Then you should be able to find the water leaking out, you could also add a bunch of food color to make the leak easier to find. Make sure you don't run the water at too high a pressure or else you might blow a seam!
    Outside of Philadelphia, PA
    18' x 40' IG - 22K gallons
    Sylvan Gunite Pool (1979)
    Plaster re-done (1997)
    48 Sq Ft Hayward D.E. Filter (2003)
    1.5 hp Hayward Super Pump (2006)

Thanks for the advice, but if you re-read my first posting you'll see I mention I have an air leak not a water leak. These are one of those pools you can but at Walmart, Sears and placed like that. Anyone else have suggestion?
    Thanks again

Frank