+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Need help! Please!!!

Default Need help! Please!!!

Another newbie here with cloudy water after a horrible algae bloom...

Prior to finding this site, I have been following pool store directives (I even starting taking water samples to two different stores to get second opinions). Anyway, after shocking with calcium hypo and using some algaecide, one dealer had me use a product called System Support (sodium percarbonate). It seemed to have killed off much/all algae, as the water now appears somewhat more blue than green, but VERY CLOUDY. I also stir up white and green clouds when brushing.

Pool store test yesterday showed 0.83 free chlorine, pH 7.7, CYA 60.

Sounds like I need to start pouring in bleach to raise chlorine levels. Will this also clear the cloudiness? I have a 28k gallon gunite pool with Pentair cartridge filter, so I am unable to vacuum to waste. I could vacuum to the filter and clean it frequently??? Should I? Why/why not?

Yesterday, when I went to the dealer, I got the ol' "I don't know what to tell you" response. I was about to start calling pool service companies when I came across this site. Can somebody help me?

Thanks!
    bgray

Default Re: Need help! Please!!!

Bgray,
    You need to get your chlorine level in 'shock' territory, around 15ppm, and keep it there morning, noon and night for a week. Also, run your filter 24/7 while dealing with cloudy water. You are going to need to clean that filter a few times before the water is clear but need to filter it all out one way or the other (vacuuming or filtering). Each bottle of 6% Ultra Bleach (5.25% regular) will raise 10,000 gallons 6ppm (5.25ppm). Lastly, do yourself a favor and get a cheap test kit (walmart has plently) so you can test the water yourself.
    Last edited by Bleach=Chlorine?; 06-12-2006 at 10:01 AM.
    Outside of Philadelphia, PA
    18' x 40' IG - 22K gallons
    Sylvan Gunite Pool (1979)
    Plaster re-done (1997)