+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Can I run Pentair Pump without cartridge filter?

Default Can I run Pentair Pump without cartridge filter?

I have a huge algae bloom that I need to kill and clear out. This is a 25,000 gallon in ground pool and Pentair 4 cartridge filter. I cleaned the filter twice today and was able to have an efficient pump for only about 15-20 minutes before it completely clogged up and needs to be cleaned again.

Can I just remove the filters and run without them while I circulate the chemicals to kill the algae?

A follow-up... Has anyone tried attaching a hose to one of the outlets of the cartridge tub so that I could vacuum the pool to waste?

Default Re: Can I run Pentair Pump without cartridge filter?

Sorry you haven't gotten an answer from someone yet! I am not an expert on algae blooms, thank heavens, but you should be able to run your pump without the I am concerned that your filters keep clogging. What is it clogging with?

As for your other question, I can't help.
    26K gal 20x40 rectangular IG vinyl pool; Apr 2014: New pump, liner, auto-cover, & water; Pentair Whisperflo 1HP pump; Pentair Trition sand filter; Cover/Star CS-500 auto cover; Taylor K-2006C; OTO

mas985 is offline Lifetime Member Whizbang Spinner mas985 3 stars mas985 3 stars mas985 3 stars

Quote Originally Posted by nomar116 View Post
    Can I just remove the filters and run without them while I circulate the chemicals to kill the algae?
    Yes

Quote Originally Posted by nomar116 View Post
    A follow-up... Has anyone tried attaching a hose to one of the outlets of the cartridge tub so that I could vacuum the pool to waste?
    I haven't myself but I know of someone who has done that so I know it can be done. How effective it may be is another issue. I think it would be better to have a three way valve between the pump and filter so you can direct all the flow to waste.
    Mark