Thread: Urgent sand filter help needed-regarding installation!

Default Urgent sand filter help needed-regarding installation!

I am about to use a shotgun to riddle my pool with bullets. Please note I am new to troublefreepool, have had my first pool for just one month, and I have searched for the answer to my question and believe it's out there but the replies are likely over my not-so-handy head. If you are kind enough to reply, please answer as if you're explaining to a kindergartner so that I can fully understand. Thanks so much.

I have a metal frame Intex 12' x 30" pool, with no skimmer. I just purchased an Intex 14" Sand Filter Pump (2900 Gallons). I could have sworn that, upon reading the reviews on Amazon, someone posted that they purchased this sand filter to use with their 12x30 Intex pool. Now I'm concerned that I can't use this with my pool. So, I have (at least) 4 problems/questions:

1. The pool, nor the new sand filter, came with a plunger valve. Is the plunger valve necessary?
    2. The pool inlet is just a 1.25" plastic neck coming out from the liner (no threading). The instructions in the sand filter manual show a threaded connector that comes out of the liner at the pool inlet. Not included, nor do I have it.
    3. The threaded end of the pump/filter hose is much larger than the pool inlet.
    4. Did I get the wrong Intex filter? Is there a way to construct an adaptor so this filter will work?

Thanks SO MUCH for any help you can provide. I'm so frustrated with trying to understand all this, and also with finding by trial and error that what I need to properly run this pool is not clearly indicated in the Intex literature.

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: Urgent sand filter help needed-regarding installation!