Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Pool chemistry

Default Pool chemistry

I am new at this stuff so please bare with me. I bought a HTH 5 test kit the other day. This is my reults.

CL=>5ppm
    ph=7.5 to 7.8
    TA=100ppm
    Total hardness=0 I believe. When 5 drops were added solution did not change color, suppose to be red to indicate hardness.
    CYA=>100ppm liquid was little below the 100 mark on the tube.

Vinyl pool 16X32 IG. Hardness range should be from 200-800pmn and CYA should be 30-50ppm. My chlorine is always high deep yellow color. I shocked pool 1 week prior to memorial day weekend and have been using an automated hayward chlorinator and trichloro 3" pucks set at between 0 and 1. My chlorine does not seem to drop off even though I have the Chlorinator set very low. Where is my problem, or Do I have a problem? Water is brilliantly clear. Any comments/suggestions would be grealy appreciated.

waterbear is offline Lifetime Member Sniggle Mechanic waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars

Default Re: Pool chemistry

Some TA tests can suffer interfernce from high chlorine levels. retest when you know the chlorine is 5 ppm or less.
    Ditto for pH test!
    Retired pool store and commercial pool maintenance guy.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Several comments. Your cya is really high. With a cya over 100, you have a couple of choices. 1 - You can do a partial drain and try and lower it. Or - 2 - you can keep the high cya and just run higher than normal chlorine. Check the post at the following link for more about that. At any rate, you need to quit using the trichlor pucks as they will continue to make your cya climb.

http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=365