+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: newbie here.....filter is toast.....which filter should we get?

Default newbie here.....filter is toast.....which filter should we get?

Long story short.....we bought a house 8 months ago with a large inground "L" shaped pool. 18x42 with 18x20 L, so approx. 47,000 gals (it's multilevel). We knew we were going to convert the pool to saltwater this year, but replacing the liner and pump were surprises to us. but we contracted with a pool company and are waiting for the liner to come in.

turns out the filter (and the oil heater!) is also not working. so we need a new filter. apparently the Hayward multiport is ok. the current filter is a Hayward DE- 4800. the pool company suggests going with a Hayward quad cartridge filter for easier maintenance (C7030) or if I want to stay with DE, the Hayward 7220. I asked about the Pentair quad DE 100, but the pool company is "pro-Hayward" and said they aren't familiar with Pentair products- they could get it, but strongly suggest we stick with Hayward. the pump will be a Hayward tristar VS and the salt system will be Hayward PL-4 Plus with 2 salt cells (40k gallons each).

we had a pool at our last house- semi-inground, 16k gallons that had a Hayward DE perflex filter. so I have some idea on the backwashing with the DE.

which filter is the best choice?
    we will go heaterless this swim season......

thanks! need to make my decision ASAP!
    Last edited by PoolDoc; 06-16-2014 at 01:42 PM. Reason: enable signature
    47k gal vinyl IG "trilevel" 18x42 & 18x20 L, Looploc liner, Tristar VS, DE7220, multiport, SWG:AquaPlus PL-4 w/(2) 40k cells, Adrenaline slide

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: newbie here.....filter is toast.....which filter should we get?