+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: brown to now green

Default brown to now green

Hi im new to pool care and this site. I am having trouble getting my water back to the beautiful blue it was when I first filled it up. I have a lot of iron in my well water so when I super chlorinated the first time it turned dark brown. After constant attention it is now green. I used bleach and borax to get my levels where they should be, except for cya is a little low. But its green still and I dont really know what im doing except for what I have read on here. Can anyone give me any advice. (I use 7 way dip stick test strips by the way)

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: brown to now green

Metals contaminated well water is an issue.

We'll need some additional info to be able to help.

1. What kind of pool is it?
    2. What size pump and what kind and size of filter?
    3. Exactly what all have you added to the pool, meaning ingredients and not just product names like 'shock.'

The test kit that we think is by far the best is the Taylor K2006 or 2006C (better buy). Not available locally but you can get it through this link that takes you to Amazon: http://pool9.net/tk/

But, in the meantime, go to Walmart and see if they have the HTH 6-Way drops-based kit (no test strips!) and get that. If they don't, get an OTO/Phenol Red kit (yellow and red drops) instead. Use it to test and then post your numbers. Also while you are at WallyWorld, get several jugs of their generic 8.25% bleach and a couple of boxes of 20 Mule Team Borax (laundry aisle).

Repost with requested info and then someone here can try and help you.

(Until you registration is completed, you won't be able to see the rest of the forum while you are logged in. So, copy that link and then paste it into a browser window after you log out.)

Welcome to the Pool Forum!