+ Reply to Thread

Thread: SWCG or Power Ionizer?

Hybrid View

Default SWCG or Power Ionizer?

I have a 30" AG pool and I have been using the pool frog chemical system for the past 7 years.

Living in northeast Ohio, I get 3 to 4 months out of the pool. It will cost me $400 to get this years supply of chemicals and I thought it would be fun and long term savings to change to a salt pool. I'm currently considering the Jandy Apure35PLG at $458, Circupool IS30 at $579, or a Power Ionizer at $269. Power Ionizer still operates with low amount of salt. I was exited to do this at first but after researching my head is spinning and not sure what to do?

Any help would be very much appreciated! I'm open to other thoughts and ideas?

BigDave is offline Lifetime Member Whizbang Spinner BigDave 3 stars BigDave 3 stars BigDave 3 stars

Default Re: SWG or Power Ionizer

We're not much for Ionizer and mineral systems here. They are usually expensive to operate and potentially unsanitary. Mineral and ion systems that put copper in the pool water also can cause staining of the pool, fingernails and light color hair.

Many here find salt water chlorine generators convenient but will probably never be cheaper than bleach. Be ware that few AG pools are made for salt water.

The best help I can give you is this advice: Learn about the BBB method of pool care described on this forum and on PoolSolutions.com. Learn the relationship between CYA and FC and order a Taylor K-2006 testkit. Spend a season manually chlorinating and learn to control your pool - your chemical costs will be a fraction of what you spend now and you will be in charge.

Welcome to PoolForum.
    12'x24' oval 7.7K gal AG vinyl pool; ; Hayward S270T sand filter; Hayward EcoStar SP3400VSP pump; hrs; K-2006; PF:16

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars