Closed Thread

Thread: Infinity pool! Carbon outgassing! TA?! pH?!

Anonymous European Guest

Question Infinity pool! Carbon outgassing! TA?! pH?!

Hello,

I came across your website while searching the internet for solutions to an ongoing problem with an infinity pool. I've been working with this pool for about 1 year, and I'm still learning. I'll start with the stats.

The pool is 21,575 gallons, plaster, has an Infinity edge spilling over two sides, and is running into water balance issues that you are likely anticipating.

We have an automated Ecolab chem feeder, using Accutab hypochlorite pucks and muriatic acid diluted by half. The feeder is calibrated to maintain a pH of 7.4 and an ORP equivalent of 2-4 ppm chlorine. My support from Ecolab has been limited and I've had to learn most of what I know on my own, reading Taylor literature from my water test kit and online discussions. My limited working knowledge of pool care has already surpassed that of my supposed professional support.

The problem:

Unless I keep the TA down at 40-50 ppm, I can not keep the water balanced. Any time I add baking soda to raise the TA, my pH skyrockets. Running the pool with alkalinity this low for several months caused copper to precipitate and stain the corners, which we were able to remove easily in with 32 oz. of Ecolab Conquest Stain Remover (Hydroxyethylidene-1, 1-Diphosphonic Acid says the label) so I am confident the stains were not algae, the stain remover worked on the first go and between the chlorinator and a UV sanitizing system our water stays free of bugs.

A typical reading when I was running the TA at 40-50 would be

FC: 3
    CC:0
    pH:7.5
    Calcium Hardness: 250
    TA: 40

Using a S.I. cheat sheet I see that this puts my water just over the range for corrosion, which would explain the copper staining, right?