+ Reply to Thread

Thread: types of fittings for pump/filter

Default types of fittings for pump/filter

I am brand new to pool care/maintenance and had a few questions.

The pool has been unused for about 2 years and was poorly covered and full of leaves/algae. I have removed as much as possible w/net. I estimate it is approx. 25,000 gallons and plan on adding a lot of shock. But first I need to replace the cover on the pump, after shocking and vacuuming I guess I will need to change out the sand. I suspect it has been 5 years or more since that was done. I am going to have to cut most of the piping and would like to replace the fittings with a type that can be easily removed in the future. Can I use the hub type rubber fittings that are normally used on plumbing drains and secured with hose clamps or are these not meant to be under pressure? If not, what do you recommend? The hose going from the pump to the filter is the flexible type and I can't think of any way to secure this unless I use hose clamps or glue in place permanently.

Thanks for the info. on the forum. It has been a big help to me.

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: types of fittings for pump/filter

I wouldn't replace the sand just because it's been 5 years -- sand can occasionally get all gummed up, and it's often blown out of the filter by over-large pumps, but it doesn't really wear out. If you DO replace it, it would be better to do so after you've cleaned up the goo.

The Fernco couplings you are talking about can sometimes be used on the SUCTION side, but not on the pressure side. You need full blown PVC unions on the pressure side.

If the address you gave is correct you have an in-ground pool, and normally the piping from pump to filter on IG pools is hard PVC. I'll post links below of appropriate items.