+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New liner help

Default New liner help

Looking for the best/easiest way to install new 18x33 overlap liner. We have had leaks in the past and I know we will need to replace the concrete dust that was used to level the bottom of the pool, some of it had to of washed away, so that we will have to tackle once we get the caps off & old liner out. When the original liner was installed they sealed everything off and used a shopvac to suck the liner to the pool walls before putting the water in, but I was hoping there may be some tricks of the trade out there for installing. Thanks in advance.
    18x33 15700 Gal Oval Above Ground
    Ranger Sand Filter w/Praher Multi Port Valve
    A.O. Smith 1.5 hp Pump
    Confer E9120 Steps

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: New liner help

I'm no expert on this but I do know that getting the bottom level, even, and the right depth is important. Two tricks I've seen is using wet sand (or dust) and using 2' x 2' pieces of 1/2" plywood to step on when doing the final leveling and smoothing, and never putting a foot on the bottom. Use the plywood when standing on the liner as well to protect the base.

The shop-vac is necessary.

Other than that, others will have to help you.
    Carl

Ok finally going to start this have liner and new soft feet foam to install caps off but liner still in I am off on weds & thurs so baring rain I should be able to get the liner out this week
    A.O. Smith 1.5 hp Pump
    Confer E9120 Steps

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Yeah, the rain's been a killer for me too. I've bought tarps just in case, to reduce re-grading time.
    Carl