+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Buy SWCG?

Default Buy SWCG?

First time pool owner via a new home purchase. Studying about SWCG. Should I use or not. I really like the idea of testing and managing my pool as a hobby. With that said here are the options I am looking at.

1. Use pool testing and chemicals via pinch a penny (what I am doing now)
    2. Employ the BBB method using store bought products (to save money....also am awaiting delivery of my Taylor K-2006 kit)
    3. Hire a monthly pool service which installs a SWCG (Maintainence of the SWCG and other chems included in the monthly price)
    4. Purchasing a SWCG system from Amazon and installing myself and use the BBB method to adjust as necessary.

Looking for the most cost effective and practical solution.

As stated I am a newbie to this and would appreciate your feedback.

I am a do it your self person but also value my time and understand some things are worth paying for and not wasting your valuable time keeping up with.

For reference I have a marcite unground pool (approx 20,000 gallons). The marcite is wearing and will likely need to be replaced in one to two years.

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: Buy SWCG?

It's simple: if you take the time to learn the B-B-B system it will easily be the cheapest. I HAVE an SWCG but only because my lifestyle changed and I'm away from home a lot and it gives me peace of mind, but not because it's cheaper. I could buy about 12 years of Liquid Chlorine for what it cost me, and every 5 years I'll have to replace the cell...which costs as much as 5 years of LC as well.

The B-B-B system is simple and easy but you MUST give your pool 2-5 minutes a day, everyday during your swim season.

I can't imagine any reason to hire a pool service for a residential pool unless you are seriously physically challenged.
    Carl