Thread: Hello from a new pool owner

Default Hello from a new pool owner

Hi all, just moved to Missouri last fall and bought a home with a pool.

IG Vinyl 20x40 ~ 37500 gal.
    Sand Filter: Sta-Rite Cristal-Flo T-240BP-1
    Pump: Centurion (Not sure about the HP as the faceplate on the motor is all corroded off.)
    Hayward 220 Chlorinator

Ordered a Taylor K-6000
    been testing daily with OTO kit from wal-mart but had the pool store run a test too.

Here are the results from the pool store

Free Chlorine: 4.0
    Total Chlorine: 4.0
    pH 7.4
    Alkalinity: 110
    Stabalizer: 80
    TDS: 1000

I've never owned a pool before so am a total newbie and I'm just now learning about pool chemistry and what's needed to take care of my pool thanks to this site.

I'm thinking I should stop using my chlorinator and stick with bleach or cal-hypo? My chlorine gets down to the lowest reading on my test kit by the end of the day and I've been putting a large bottle of concentrated bleach in each night. In the AM its backup up to the highest reading on my test kit.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: Hello from a new pool owner

I think you mean that you ordered a Taylor K-2006 kit, right? I hope it gets to you quickly. With a CYA of 80, you are going to have to run higher than normal chlorine levels and thus will need the ability to measure higher than an OTO kit can. If you have not done so already, take a look at the Best Guess Chlorine Chart in my signature below for information about the connection between CYA levels and needed chlorine levels.