Thread: New Owner, First Pool, and Results of my First K-2006 Test + Treatment

Default New Owner, First Pool, and Results of my First K-2006 Test + Treatment

I have just a few beginner questions to see if I'm catching on to this chemistry thing. I am actually a mechanical engineer by trade, so my knowledge ends with the pool pump, valves, and piping. The chemistry is where I get caught up. Some quick background - I just bought this house with the pool installed about 1997 or so. it has a grout bottom with tiles and a spa with waterfall into the pool.

Quick administrative question - I've been a member of the forums now almost a week but cannot seem to access the other boards yet - exactly how long does it take to become "initiated?"

Per the suggestions laid out on this forum, I bought the following to get started:
    * Taylor FAS-DPD K-2006 test kit
    * Several bottles of basic concentrated Walmart bleach (8.25%)
    * 20 Mule Team Borax
    * Large box of baking soda
    * Trichlor chlorine tabs
    * D.E. for my filter

It was an expensive start-up process (ballpark of $300 for all that), but I'm hoping future costs will be small to replace chemicals as I go.

Results of my first test w/ the K-2006 kit after treating with suggested materials:
    * CYA: 100 ppm
    * pH: 7.8 (started @ 7.1 two days ago, added 80% box of Borax over 2 days)
    * Free Chlorine: 15 ppm (I added 121 fl. oz. of the 8.25% bleach last night to shock the pool, since this has not been done in weeks or months possibly)
    * Combined Chlorine: 0.5 ppm
    * Total Alkalinity: 150 ppm

My question is pretty general. How do my numbers look, what other information do you need, and what should I expect from here?

Other helpful info:
    * High Temp in last 1 week: 89F
    * Low Temp in last 1 week: 50F
    * Projected High in next 1 week: 80F
    * Projected Low in next 1 week: 37F