+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Suggestions on replacing pool equipment

Default Suggestions on replacing pool equipment

I have a 5 year old Aquapure 1400 SWCG system along with a Jandy RS PDA-PS4 (Wireless controller) that was installed when my pool was built. Over the last three years we've had to regularly replace components of the Aquapure SWCG; board, flow sensors, cell, and of course, time spent dealing with issues and the growing realization that despite having spent good money, investing time in educationg myself to ensure I managed the system optimally per Jandy quidelines, that what it boils down to is the product is substandard in build quility and support.

I'm an engineer by profession, work in I.T. (infrastructure) and have inistalled, configured, and supported thousands of low/midrange/and highend networking equipment that is exponentially more sophisticated, both in HW design, functionality, and the SW that runs the gear. A significant amount of that equipment is less expensive to purchase and support than a new Aqua1400 system and the RS PDA controller that was installed to manage it.

A simple, technologically matured pool subsystem component such as the Aquapure, has, from an engineering perspective, a TB failure delta that is unacceptable. And quite honestly, in my opinion, is nonthing more than robbery. It would be ucceptable in other electronic compenent manufacturing niches, industrial, or otherwise. Particularly when the technology has been used successfuly in various iterations, i.e. manufacturing processes, food preperation industry, civil engineering, desalination, chemical engineering processes, etc......... for 80+ years.