+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie here! Already filled my intex 15x36 pool with water (Oops!)

Default Newbie here! Already filled my intex 15x36 pool with water (Oops!)

I read your bleach/borax treatment suggestion a little too late.

My pool is just about filled with 2800 gallons of well water. What is my next step? I went to my local discount store and purchased Shock, Chlorine tabs and a ph measuring kit? Should I save my receipt?

Any help would be appreciated!!

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Newbie here! Already filled my intex 15x36 pool with water (Oops!)

1. Go get some algaecide -- polyquat if possible -- and put a SINGLE dose in. NO chlorine! NO swimming!

2. Get a cheap OTO / phenol red test kit. Make sure pH is between 7 & 8. If possible lower it to 7.0 - 7.2

3. Do a metals bucket test, to see you have metals in your water.

4. Follow the recipe, once you've done those things.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

If you need to lower the pH, use muriatic acid to do so but please read the link in Ben's signature above explaining the steps.

Thanks! I've now done all that. My problem now is that my pool has a green tinge to it. The water looks clear, but it's definitely a little green. I've done 2 doses of the clarifier from the pool store and 1 dose of Iron Out.

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

1. No more clarifier! Overdoses can make it impossible to clear your pool!
    2. No more Iron Out! (What was that for, anyhow? It destroys chlorine, and will have no positive effect on iron that IN your water.)
    3. Did you add the polyquat?